Fri 14 January 2005 @ 9:37 pm
Mystery Shopping

On with organising things for the christening...

Got out the remainder of our wedding cake today. It looks gahstly! The moisture from the fruit cake had seeped through the white icing, so it looked sort-of brown. Mmmm.

I took it back to the man who made it to get it re-iced. After a bit of confusion (he thought someone had come to talk about a new wedding cake during his busy lunch business, I didn't understand why he'd said "come anytime" on the phone to me and I was then told to come back after 4pm - never mind, mis-communication, I think his staff might have copped it, because they were very apologetic when I went back) we got it sorted out.

It'll have the sliver decoration we had on it for the wedding, but will have CJ's name too.

And he's not going to charge us anything! Is that because of the confusion earlier? Or did he charge us enough first time?

(We have the top two tiers of the cake left - maybe we'll only use one again this time, so there'll be one left for the next...?)

Have ordered a candle for the ceremony from the catholic shop - a special one with his name and the date of baptism. (I'm not meant to call it Christening, but I like that word better, so I will.)

Bought a silver mug to get his name and date of birth engraved on as the gift to him from A. and I.

Just have to do that on Monday.

Now to think of the food (nibbles) to serve on the day. A. has one request - sausage rolls - very fine-dining!


I've begun some very casual work while being a SAHM. Mystery Shopping! It's quite fun. Doesn't pay a great amount, I've only done a couple of jobs a week, but is ok to go into stores and look at things, talk to a staff member, wait for them to attempt to close the sale, and then say "I'll think about it"!

I've not even told anyone about it - well, A. knows of course. But I haven't said anything to anyone else. There was a big confidentiality clause in the contract, but I'm sure that wouldn't stop you saying to close friends or relatives that you do this. I guess it's meant to stop people who you could be mystery shopping from finding out.

I will say something soon. Might need to next week actually. I have a couple coming up that I can't take CJ along to. That was ok since A. was home on holiday, but he's back at work now, so I'll need to ask my Mum or sister to look after him.

I'm thinking about saying I can't do the jobs that require you not to take children. But then would that mean I'd miss out on the best jobs? or any at all?

I don't know. Will think about it.





k
a
t
e

n
z
design by joanna // image from 315 dpi
<<>>